420 people read this
The Department of Agricultural Economics was established as a part of the Faculty of Agriculture in 1997-98 academic year and started to accept students. It is an applied social science, as it deals with and examines the economic aspect of all aspects of agriculture. Therefore, it has a different feature from other departments of the Faculty of Agriculture.
The main function of the Department of Agricultural Economics is education, research, and extension; To carry out researches that produce solutions to the economic, social and political problems of agriculture at micro and macro level and transfer them to practice, to disseminate the obtained results to the relevant fields and to transfer them to the stakeholders.
By training undergraduate, graduate and doctorate in the field of Agricultural Economics, it trains specialized personnel that our country needs. Thus, it is the main goal to contribute to the development of the country by training technical personnel who can contribute to scientific development in the field of Agricultural Economics, and can closely monitor and apply technological developments for both public institutions and the private sector.
There are two departments within the Department of Agricultural Economics.
1. Farm Management
2. Agricultural Policy and Extension